Posted by: athike2011 | August 1, 2011

Day 20, Mississippi– Birmingham

Started out today with a bike ride out to Elvis Presley park. I forgot to bring my camera with me, but it honestly wasn’t all that interesting anyways. The ride itself was nice, but I think early in the morning or late in the evening is the only time I could really go for a ride out here, the heat is too much otherwise. I spent a little time looking for the more interesting route to take. I found a more out of the way drive I was able to do that put me through the William B. Bankhead National Forest, where there was the Sipsey River.

We made a brief stop a the “longest natural bridge this side of the rockies”. which turned out to be an old worn down tourist trap that looked like it hadn’t seen many people in a long time. They wanted $5 to go see the bridge, which didn’t entice me enough to check it out, but I did take a picture of the sign.

P1020168

We got to the river area and made some lunch, and relaxed for a bit. I packed up a bag and we headed down to the water. We waded a ways down the river, which was pretty low according to a guy a spoke with towards the beginning, until we found a slightly deeper area where we hung out and swam around for a while.

P1020169         P1020184

P1020171  P1020190

P1020178

When we go to Birmingham we ran a few errands, replaced the ice in the cooler, and headed to a local park to cook dinner. I did some looking at mileage and I think tomorrow we are going to walk around downtown Birmingham area, and from there head south to Montgomery. I am a bit of a history buff so I think the civil rights movement history will be really interesting to see.

Responses

  1. brilliant pics 🙂
    http://sandbetweentoes.wordpress.com/

  2. You might want to check out the longest race track at Talladaga. Impressive to say the least since nothing else is around. 20 miles east on I 20.

    • I wish I could have had the time and money, but I ended up having to just go straight down to Montgomery…


Leave a Reply

Categories

