Posted by: athike2011 | July 30, 2011

Day 17, 18–Kansas City, Memphis

Day 17

Today was mostly a lazy day, took the time to relax and catch up on a few things I’ve been behind on. Gehrig and I finally got motivated around 6:30 and took off for a local roadhouse known as BB’s lawnside BBQ. Thursday night they do a full slab special for $15 as well as having live music.

20110728_192120_000

Gehrig and I shared a slab and sat down to enjoy the music. The band that was supposed to be playing was John Paul’s Flying Circus. Gehrig was not especially excited as he said they played mostly non-lyrical jams that all sounded exactly the same. However, on this particular evening, the front man, John Paul was not around, some prior engagement I suppose. Never the less, not only was the band free of the normal restraints imposed by the front man, but they had a special guest, Katie Guillen, a local legend, barely 22 she graduated from Berklee School of Music when she was 21. She is already well known around the Kansas City area as she has been playing with, if not out playing most of the artists in the area since she was a kid.

20110728_192320_000

As for the food, it was quite delicious, the ribs far outdid Arthur Bryants from the day before, which was sad, but I was glad to have had a tasty dinner.

20110728_193138_000

Instead of poorly attempting to describe the music, I took a number of videos which are posted below.

Day 18

Slept in a little later than I would have liked today, didn’t get out of bed until around 9, I guess the cool comfort of a real bed in the basement was too much for my body to resist. I took Sierra for a walk around the park by the house and let her run around for a little bit. When I got back I thanked Gehrig for his amazing hospitality over the last few days and started to pack my things. While I was packing, Gehrig took the rest of the leftover sausage I was so fond of from Arthur Bryants and made me a sandwich to take with me on the road.

Sierra and I set out for Memphis. The plan was to get there and stay with my friend SallyBeth’s mom who lives in the area. It was a hot day with constantly looming thunderstorms that never seemed to catch us. The drive was far nicer with much prettier scenery than the drive across Kansas. the various limestone formations that lined the road kept my interest a lot of the way. Not too far into Arkansas I drove past a place that made me turn around at the next chance and drive back for a second look.

P1020085

The place turned out to be an antiques, or at least Americana collectables type store. They had so much stuff around every turn, it actually reminded me of a house I once installed a television in. It was really cool to see all this old stuff in one place, and all of it was for sale.

P1020086           P1020095

P1020099  P1020094

P1020100  P1020101

P1020097  P1020098

One of the more interesting, and random things I stumbled upon were these old beer cans.

P1020088  P1020090

P1020091             P1020092

P1020093

I escaped only having purchased a small two dollar Olymipa Beer advertisement, from when the beer was actually brewed in Olympia. The rest of the drive to Memphis was nice, not too hot, but the humidity was, and still is, something awful. About an hour out I called SallyBeth’s mom, but got no answer. I left a voicemail and waited for a response. I headed to Walmart as there were a few things I needed to pick up anyways. When I pulled in to the parking lot I noticed a few strange bumps on Sierra. After further inspection I realized she has a full on rash type thing all over her belly and legs. Strange bumps that seem to be almost blister like. She doesn’t seem too bothered but first thing in the morning we will be going to the vet, the joys of vet bills.

I guess there was some sort of miscommunication with SallyBeth’s mom as I didn’t hear back from her. No worries, it’s easy enough to find a place to stay for the evening.

[googlemaps http://maps.google.com/maps?saddr=Kansas+City,+MO&daddr=Memphis,+TN&hl=en&sll=39.099726,-94.578567&sspn=0.736415,1.454315&geocode=FU6dVAIdedhc-imXmemvXvfAhzGiUapq5iWFVQ%3BFd5WGAIdLPah-ilFl0PqHn7VhzH-thpgFfOT0Q&mra=ls&t=h&z=7&output=embed]

Leave a Reply

Categories

