Posted by: athike2011 | July 13, 2011

Day One–Lake Coeur D’Alene

The smell of stale beer has barely faded after a big reunion weekend. It just happened to time out that I was back in Olympia for a 5 year reunion party for a house where I used to live. Friends from across the state and country came back for what will probably be the last time we are all in the same place at the same time. It was great to meet up with old friends and catch up on what everyone had been doing since we were last together.

Somewhere in-between the festivities and reunions I managed to get everything I needed out of my very overstuffed five by ten storage unit. I also picked up a new roof box, four gallon water jug and make shift dresser. It took a little bit of playing around and modifications but I finally have the back of the Subaru exactly how I want it so it’s good and comfortable, decently organized and easy to live in.

My friend Eli, who’s wedding I am driving to, was also in Olympia this weekend for his cousin’s wedding, so I was able to see him again out here before heading back to Framingham. He too left today, we we went out for a breakfast before his flight and my drive. I hit the road around 11am taking my time, enjoying the scenery, made a stop at a Starbucks for a bit to borrow some WIFI.

20110712_164409_00020110712_165901_000

About halfway through my drive today I smelled what I thought was burning plastic. I ignored it until I realized it was too strong to be coming from another car. I pulled over on the freeway and noticed my auxiliary power splitter for my cellphone charger and GPS was sitting funny. I pulled it out and found it had completely melted!

20110712_174323_000

I took the opportunity to look at a map and decide where I was going to stay the night. I realized I was going the be around lake Coeur D’Alene around the time I wanted to call it an evening. This is a lake I have driven passed many times on I-90 trips and always wanted to check out. I set up the GPS and headed out. Coming off the freeway I realized I had timed it perfectly for the sunset. I took the opportunity to pull over and take some pictures before I found the spot I would stay tonight.

20110712_203929_000 20110712_204109_000

Found a good place to park, nice and dark, right off the water and there is a bathroom just down the road. It’s a warm night and I can hear the rumble of thunder in the distance, may be interesting with the windows rolled most of the way up. I am going to have to figure out the mosquito net thing soon.

20110712_210512_000

I noticed a bike trail that goes a good way around the lake, I’m going to get up early and go for a ride in the morning.

Responses

  1. Beautiful photos! Were those taken with your iPhone?


Leave a Reply

Categories

