Posted by: athike2011 | June 5, 2011

Getting back to the trail / food assistance

I just thought I would update everyone and let you all know I will be getting back on the trail on Tuesday morning. My trail updates will resume as they did before once I get going. I want to say thank you to my friends Eli and Sabrina for graciously hosting me the last week and a half while I recovered and regrouped, without you guys I would likely not be continuing.

For anyone who is interested, I have been going over finances and am in need of any help I can get. Other than financial assistance, I would love it if people felt like sending care packages with food and resupply goods. If you are going to do so, please post a comment on here about it so that everyone doesn’t send things to the same location, leaving me with too much to carry in one place. I will be sure to send post cards from Mt.Katahdin to anyone who sends a package! Thanks!

Below I’ve made a couple lists, the first one is just of what I buy, or would like to buy for an average resupply, keeping in mind I do have to carry all this so my resupplies are usually only for 2-4 days at a time. The other list is of various places along the trail that I can pick up packages, I just need to know they are waiting for me.

Resupply Stuff:
-Mountain house dinners
-Snickers
-Sweet and Salty Nut Bars
-Powdered Gatorade, individually packaged servings
-Tuna, in packets not cans
-Skittles
-Frosted blueberry poptarts
-Ramen Noodles
-Yakisoba Noodles (http://www.maruchan.com/maruchan_yakisoba.html)
-Large Freezer Zip Lock Bags
-Combos (pretzel snacks)
-Cheese its
-Dehydrated Vegetables
-Grape nuts
-Freeze Dried Fruit
-Powdered Milk
-Granola
-Beef Jerkey
-Power Bars
-Cliff Bars
-5 hour energy shots

This is all just the type of things I buy at the store, but as I said before, I only carry 2-5 days of food at a time.

Locations, from south to north:

All packages should just be sent to

General Delivery
Hold For Thru Hiker Chris Houston

Warwick, NY 10990

Stormville, NY 12582

Salisbury, CT 06068

Becket, MA 01223

Manchester Center, VT 05255

South Pomfret,VT 05067

Glencliff, NH 03238

Gorham, NH 03581

Andover, ME 04216

Stratton, ME 04982

Monson, ME 04464

Responses

  1. Millis is getting some stuff together for you this week! Will let you know where and when towards the end of the week!

  2. Depending on where you’re at next week I’ll be sending you a package on June 11 to either Becket or Manchester Center.

    I’ll put a list of what I’m sending once I have it all 🙂

  3. Chris, i’d like to send you some cash. How shall we go about the transaction? on Paypal? or a postal money order sent to you at the general delivery address of an upcoming town? Let me know and i’ll get it to you asap.

    xoxo Alice


Leave a Reply

Categories

