Posted by: athike2011 | May 11, 2011

5/9-5/10

5/9

Cedar Cliffs

Today sucked. 27 miles, all awful until the last 30 feet when I found this spot to cowboy camp for the night. It’s been almost 2 months since I’ve had a decent nights sleep, my feet feel like someone dropped bricks on them, and my whole body hurts.

20110510-112126.jpg

20110510-112132.jpg

5/10

My cousin Emily’s place in Charlottesville

Hiked the last 15 miles into rockfish gap by 1 to meet up with Emily, that makes 125ish miles in the last 5 days, including my 27 yesterday. We went to blue mountain brewery for lunch and a beer. From there we went back to her place where I did laundry and took a shower. The dogs ran and played for a while as Emily and I caught up on the last 20 years. Her husband Scott came home and we headed to a delicious Thai dinner, picked up some beers and watched the Sharks blow it again. Tomorrow to REI, check out Richmond a bit and do some resupplying.

Responses

  1. YEA!!!
    A good day and night well deserved!!
    Thanks so much Emily and Scott.

    I don’t know how you’re enduring all of this.
    Of course you’ve got a complete wimp for a mother.

    And this middle part of the trip must be the most difficult. The beginning excitement is long behind and the end is not yet near enough to touch.
    But you’ve got such an amazing reserve of strength.
    If this is what you want to do I have no doubt you’ll accomplish it.

    Your pictures, as always, are beautiful.
    Thanks for including them.

    • It was our pleasure! We had a great time and I was sad he had to leave; however, it’s so much fun to live this experience vicariously through him that I was ready for his adventure to continue! He’ll just have to come back and we’ll have to make a trip out west. Winston (my puppy) really misses Sierra…he’s been looking around the house for her and whining since I got home from work.

  2. I can’t wait to see the photos on your camera! Some of these have been gorgeous, I’m sure they’re even better not on the iphone šŸ™‚

  3. That’s awesome, I’m so glad you’ve gotten to see so much family šŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

Categories

