Posted by: athike2011 | May 1, 2011

4/29-4/30

4/29

Pearisburg, VA

long 11 miles to get into town today. There was a very steep downhill at the end as well, which did some serious work on my knees. Got into town and got six of us settled into one room at the holiday lodge.

20110501-040452.jpg

20110501-040443.jpg

20110501-040501.jpg

20110501-040508.jpg

I ate a big meal at the Chinese buffet and then resupplied at the grocery store. From there it was back to the room to rest for a while. At 7 I headed to a Mexican restaurant across the street to watch the caps game until the sharks game at 10. Ate some more, drank a few beers and watched some hockey. Got through the first period of the sharks game before they kicked me out to close. Watched the rest in silence in the hotel room, for sone reason VS was the only channel that had no audio. Sharks won, I slept well.

4/30

Pine swamp branch shelter

Today sucked. Not sure why. My feet were hurting worse than ever before and I spent most of the day thinking about quitting. Got to the shelter and had dinner, was happy to hear that everyone else had a similar day for some reason. Greatly looking forward to new shoes in Daleville. Luckily tomorrow is a new day.

Responses

  1. I hope today has been a better day.
    The Sharks are up 1-0 at the end of the second period of game two, so that should cheer you up some as well!

    Sorry about the feet, I am sure the new shoes help with that. At least you were not alone in feeling down…

  2. No soak in that pool.

    I’m sorry it’s been a tough few days.

    Painful knees and feet can’t help that at all.
    When you get old (like me) you’ll be so ready for the pain, but that doesn’t make this any easier.

    You would have been proud of your dad’s dedication to the game today. I think without your influence, he wouldn’t have the total enthusiam he has.

    Better days ahead!

  3. Sorry to hear you had such a rough day, I’m always here to help push you along when you need it 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

