Posted by: athike2011 | April 7, 2011

4/4 – 4/7

4/4

Today was about an 18 mile push into Hot Springs, the hike was nice, but it got up to about 89 degrees today, so as I can see it, I’ve gone through three seasons in the last three days. I arrived into town around 2:30, which was pretty good time even for me, and found there was no cell service, which wouldn’t really matter, but at some point in the evening I was supposed to meet up with Claire and Mike to hang out in Asheville for a few days. I went to the gear shop in town and got my new rain wrap to replace the rain pants I have been hiking with. After that I grabbed a quick bite to eat and went to a local hostel to hang out with a few fellow hikers and wait out the oncoming storm until I was able to meet up with my friends. Around 5pm the thunder and lightning started with a little drizzle here and there, but nothing like the predicted storm. By 7 the skies opened up and the wind came whipping through at 40-50mph. I went to a local bar to hang out until Claire got there. Around 8:30 they showed up and we headed off to Asheville.

4/5-4/6

Spent two days in Asheville dealing with some gear things, getting food, relaxing, etc. It was nice to get off the trail and have these luxuries, but I’m not sure I would do it for two days again, as it made it harder to get going again.

4/7

Spring mtn shelter
Lon: -82.79021
Lat: 35.95168

Took it easy today coming off a few days off, I plan to pick up the pace in the next few days. Shelter tonight sucks pretty bad, not entirely convinced it will keep the rain off us tonight, but it’s better than nothing. I’m thinking I won’t take another zero day till damascus.

Leave a Reply

Categories

